Home » Uncategorized » Allegiant (not really a review just some random thoughts)

Allegiant (not really a review just some random thoughts)

Allegiant (Divergent, #3)Allegiant by Veronica Roth

Format: Kindle ebook

Published: October 22nd 2013 by HarperCollins Children’s Book’s

Source: Local library

It’s been a few days since I’ve finished reading Allegiant. Okay, I wasn’t as horrified as I thought I would be after reading some of the other reviews. But I was a little torn in how I felt about the book.

So there’s a planned uprising in the city.  A small group leaves the city and finds out what else is “out there.” They find out they’re an experiment, a fairly successful experiment until recently. A government coup. Sacrifices. Grief. I think that about sums up the book. Of course, I’m not going to spoil it for you, if you want to read the book and don’t want to know the specifics.

I don’t know really how I’d rate the book. Overall, I think I liked it, but I didn’t really like it either.  This little group, which includes Tris and Tobias, leaves their gated city only to discover that their city is an experiment and the U.S. government has been spying on them for years with cameras placed all over the city. I kept wondering why Roth would continue to make Tobias so gullible, but yet have only four fears. Something seemed so off with that.

Why keep finding ways to keep Tris and Tobias apart? It’s the last book of the trilogy. Why not just let them be together and work as a couple to solve the problems they find outside the gate? And there was one scene where Tris is handed an electronic device to read her mother’s journal/reports. She calls the electronic device a tablet. Why would she that electronic device a tablet? None of the description in the scene says that she thought that it looked like a tablet. I don’t even think the person handing Tris the tablet called it a tablet. Just a random thought.

Well, I can say that I’ve finished the Divergent trilogy. I can I’ll see the first Divergent movie when it comes out in theaters. It looks pretty good. And the first Divergent book was outstanding, so I’m looking forward to the movie.

Thanks for reading with me.

 

 

Leave a Reply

