Home » Books » The Chase: a mini review

The Chase: a mini review

The Chase (O'Hare and Fox, #2)The Chase by Janet Evanovich and Lee Goldberg

My rating: 3 of 5 stars

Format: Kindle ebook

Published: February 25th 2014 by Bantam Books

Source: Netgalley, courtesy of the publisher

The Chase was okay. After years of reading Janet Evanovich Stephanie Plum novels, I think my expectations were a little low. So I was actually pleasantly surprised. It wasn’t filled with the shenanigans of Evanovich’s Stephanie Plum novels (that has gotten a little old). It took a little long for The Chase to get interesting to me. I think I was almost finished before I wanted to keep reading.

The Chase was an easy read. I guess it’s a light-hearted book version of NBC’s The Blacklist (I absolutely love that show). Nick Fox, a con man and thief, uses his skills to help the FBI. And Special Agent Kate O’Hare is assigned to be Fox’s handler/babysitter. The pair has been assigned to recover a stolen item from Carter Grove.

The heist goes almost as planned. Kate’s father and his group of cronies are on hand to help Kate and Nick in the recovery plan as well as an assortment of knowing and unknowing cast members. It was a little cute and I giggled every now and again. After reading another person’s review, I’m glad that I’m not alone in not knowing how to rate The Chase. The premise is good. The action isn’t bad, but it seems to be lacking something. But I don’t really know what that something is. I think the chemistry and the sexual tension is missing between Kate and Nick.  Evanovich and Goldberg reference it throughout the book, but I found myself finding it hard to believe that these two would ever hook up.

I think this book came out a bit too early. I probably would have read it as an easy summer read. And I would recommend that others read it as such.

One thought on “The Chase: a mini review

  1. Pingback: It’s Monday! What are you reading? | Just One More Reader

Leave a Reply

