Home » Books » Review: Defy

Review: Defy

Defy (Defy, #1)Defy by Sara B. Larson

My rating: 3 of 5 stars

Format: Kindle Edition, 336 pages
Published:  January 7th 2014 by Scholastic Press

Usually I don’t read what others have to say about a book until after I read it. I like to know if I’m the only one who who liked it or didn’t like it. In trying to find out the date of publication of Defy, I read a few reviews. Oh why did I do that?

Some of the reviews clouded my judgement while I was reading. Is the prince really gay? Does Alex become weak after her secret is revealed? And these were just a few questions that came to me before I even started.

I can say that I enjoyed the book, but I’m wondering if I would’ve enjoyed it more if I haven’t seen earlier reviews. One question that a reviewer pondered was if the Prince was gay. However, if she read the book, wouldn’t she know the answer?

This book has all the elements that I enjoy: mystery, intrigue, strong female lead, good pacing — just enough back story so that the reader understands the characters and also continues to move forward in the story — and kept me wondering to the end.

This book also has a few of the things that I don’t enjoy: a love triangle that’s not really a love triangle (at least I didn’t think it was a love triangle) and a feeling that something was missing. And I was never really a fan of the typical love story formula: the boy meets girl, they fall in love, boy loses girl, and then… Since this is a love triangle, this could apply to either Alexa and the Prince or Alexa and Ryan.

I’m also the girl who likes to binge-read the entire series at once. If I enjoy a series, I want to read the next book right away. So I’ll probably read the next one when it comes out (I’m figuring) next year. And I’m recommending that you add Defy to your Reading List.

Leave a Reply

