Home » Books » Review: The Rise of Nine by Pittacus Lore (audiobook)

Review: The Rise of Nine by Pittacus Lore (audiobook)

I’ve finished my first book for the Everything YA Reading Challenge:

The Rise of Nine (Lorien Legacies, #3)The Rise of Nine by Pittacus Lore

My rating: 4 of 5 stars

The Rise of Nine is the 3rd installment of the Lorien Legacies series. It’s a true story of Loric survivors. The Morgadorians destroyed their planets and have followed these survivors to Earth set on destroying them and Earth.

It’s been a little while since I’ve read the first two installments of this series. So I had to do a bit of catching up and remembering. But I’ve enjoy them so it didn’t bother me to have to catch up on the fly. I listened to this audio book while running my weekend errands and while working. It was just long enough.

Okay, I’ll admit to liking the whole idea of this being a true story with the Loriens and Morgadorians hiding among us in plain sight. Unbeknownst to my family and friends, I’m conspiracy theorist. So if you see of them, don’t mention this little known fact. So I can totally buy that the U.S. government is hiding extraterrestrials on our planet and is secretly helping them integrate into our society.

I usually don’t like more than one narrators in an audio book. But this works, after I figured out each narrator’s voice. I remembered Four’s voice from the previous audio books. So he wasn’t hard to keep track of and follow his and Nine’s story. But it was a little harder to follow Six, Eight, Ten. Sadly, I don’t remember if Seven was in this story. I think that’s just maturity and not that the story was boring. Once I was able to follow the narrators and which numbers were with each other, I really began to enjoy the book. There were moments during the narration when I stopped working to listen to the action, particularly during the climax. And I may have held my breath for a few seconds.

I’ve already started my next book, which is also the next book in the Lorien Legacies, The Fall of Five.

Leave a Reply

