Home » Books » Musing Mondays

Musing Mondays

I’m reading Takedown Twenty by Janet Evanovich.

I’m not really enjoying the Stephanie Plum series as I once did. When I began reading this series almost twenty years ago, I enjoyed the exploding cars, who should Stephanie choose between Ranger and Joe, the Plum family interactions, etc. Twenty years later (in real life, not necessarily in Stephanie Plum reality)…I want Stephanie to choose between Joe and Ranger. By now, she should be more adept at being a bounty hunter, at least be more efficient with a gun and a stun gun. I figure she should be able to have bullets in her gun without shooting (at) herself or Lula or the wall.

And what a mess that the movie ended up being. I hated the movie: the character casting was horrible, in my humble opinion. I love Daniel Sunjata, especially in the USA network new television series Graceland, but he is not Ranger. Katherine Heigl as Stephanie Plum, um how I do I say this politely, AWWW HELL NAW! That accent was horrid. There was no chemistry between her and Daniel Sunjata and none between her and Jason O’Mara. I could Jason O’Mara being Joe Morelli, although the actor was born and raised in Dublin, Ireland. I doubt we’ll see any sequels to this movie. Some books just don’t translate well into movies…this is definitely one of them.

I keep reading the series in hopes that I’ll see growth in Stephanie and some original humor in the books. Notorious Nineteen had a few giggle moments. Well, I’ll be finished this book this week. My first novel will be completed for my Goodreads Reading Challenge.

Musing Mondays is a weekly event where MizB will ask a book/reading-related question, and you answer with your own thoughts on the topic. Musing Mondays is hosted by Should be Reading.

Leave a Reply

