Home » Uncategorized » TMI

TMI

TMITMI by Patty Blount
My rating: 3 of 5 stars

The first three lines from the publisher’s summary:

Best friends don’t lie.
Best friends don’t ditch you for a guy.
Best friends don’t post your deepest, darkest secrets online.

If the publisher stopped at those first three lines, I think my expectations would’ve been met. But Sourcebooks marketing team did not do a good job with this book. The full publisher’s summary would lead you to believe that the entire book is about Meg investigating her best friend’s, Bailey, new secret online boyfriend Ryder West. While Meg does hold suspicions about this Ryder West person, the book is more about the girls’ friendship.

I’m having a little problem motivating myself to write a review for this book. So I must apologize in advance so such a boring review. It wasn’t a bad book, but it wasn’t a good book either, just meh.(Is “meh” a word? I saw it somewhere and kinda describes what I feel about this book.) It took too long for me to get interested in it. I was just about ready to give up, but I was about 50% through the book before I wanted to keep reading. As an adult, I am so glad that I survived my teenage years, something I would NEVER want to relive again. And TMI just reiterated that feeling, especially in the world of Facebook and Twitter.

Meg and Bailey have been best friends since their earliest childhood memories. Through the years, they’ve managed to keep each other’s secrets until Bailey gets an online boyfriend, Ryder West, that Meg doesn’t believe is an actual teenage boy. Bailey allows Ryder West to interfere in her friendship with Meg. Believing that Meg told Ryder an embarrasing secret, Bailey posts an equally embarrassing secret of Meg on Facebook. Wow, I do forget how mean girls can be to one another!

Both girls suffer from being “daddyless daughters” (yes, I just coined a phrase from Oprah and Iyanla). Meg has over-planned her life because that’s what her father told her to do before he committed suicide when Meg was a young child. Bailey looks to find love in her boyfriends because she didn’t never knew her father. Bailey has been looking for her father since the beginning of the book. Okay it was probably longer than that, but I don’t remember.

I’m struggling here and I’m going to put myself out of my misery. TMI is a good starting place for a discussion on friendship and trust, the pros and cons of Facebook and Twitter, and how not having a father-figure in your life can affect a girls life.

My overall grade: C

Publication date: August 6th 2013 by Sourcebooks Fire.
TMI

Leave a Reply

