Home » Books » Blood Alley

Blood Alley

Blood Alley (The Highwayman #1)Blood Alley by David Wisehart
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

Well, let me start by saying that thanks to Stephen King, I stopped reading horror stories as soon as I started as a teenager. I don’t remember the title of the story but it was about a Polaroid camera and a ferocious dog coming out of each picture that the camera “took.” I know that was many moons ago, but it goes to show that Stephen King is a good writer. And the story was very impressionable on teenage girl.
With that said, I was hesitant to embark on new horror novel, Blood Alley, written by David Wisehart. However, I thought I’d give the horror genre another shot. I’m not an impressionable teenage girl anymore, so what did I have to lose?
Let me tell you, I’m glad that I did. The Highwayman series is off to a good start, with Blood Alley as its opening novel.
Blood Alley is about a benevolent spirit who terrorizes and kills trespassers on “his” highway. The book opens with a prologue of the story of a 1950s popular singer and his drummer who drag race on Blood Alley on a night when the Highwayman awakens. The first chapter begins in the present and focuses on a group of teenagers. Of course, the teenagers encounter car trouble and the terror begins.
Whew! I really enjoyed Blood Alley. The action scenes were spectacularly written. There were times when I actually sitting on the edge of my seat and gripping my Kindle tighter than necessary. OMG! I think a few times, I was actually holding my breath. There wasn’t a lot of gore for the sake of gore. Mr. Wisehart did an excellent job of building the tension sequences and driving home the action. Let’s just say I won’t be driving across the deserted highway at night. And I definitely won’t stop at the boarded-up farmhouse on same deserted highway.
Blood Alley was a definite page turner. I’ll be adding The Highwayman series to my reading list.
Overall grade for Blood Alley: B+

View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

